top of page

Preparing My Shield

Today I began work on my shield.

First thing I had to do is determine where my strap and grip will be while keeping in mind that I will be wearing a full clam shell gauntlet with a bracer over my gambeson. Once I determined this I drilled the holes for the carriage bolts and tightened them onto the shield.

Then I took the hose/tubing I bought and with a razor blade I split the entire length of the hose and fitted it over the edge of the shield with a slight overlap on the bottom outside edge of the shield. Then I drilled holes along the edges of the shield next to the tubing. With some paracord, I began to wrap the tubing to the edge of the shield with the occasional knotting to keep it all tight.

Then with some contact cement I began to cover the with the canvas and wrap it over the tubing and onto the back of the shield by about 2 inches until all of it is attached to the shield.

And here you have it. Now just awaiting paint.


bottom of page